Tuesday, May 22

Darkness Before Dawn: Book Review

Darkness Before Dawn
J. A. London
HarperTeen
May 29th 2012
Young Adult | Fantasy | Post-Apocalyptic
Vampire

Official Blurb -

This electrifying new trilogy blends the best of paranormal and dystopian storytelling in a world where the war is over. And the vampires won.

Humans huddle in their walled cities, supplying blood in exchange for safety. But not even that is guaranteed. Dawn has lost her entire family and now reluctantly serves as the delegate to Lord Valentine, the most powerful vampire for miles. It isn’t until she meets Victor, Valentine’s son, that she realizes not all vampires are monsters....

Darkness Before Dawn is a fresh new story with captivating characters, unexpected plot twists, a fascinating setting, and a compelling voice. Written under the name J. A. London by a talented mother-son team, the trilogy is perfect for fans of True Blood and the House of Night and Morganville Vampires series.
The title is so much deeper than it first appears. The literal translation about the time before dawn fits perfectly to the story. The people are in the darkest night yet dawn may not be too far distant. Also the time of most danger to them is the darkness before dawn. Yet as I read, the title took on another meaning for me. Dawn finds herself mixed up in a very dangerous situation. It seems that no matter where she looks there is darkness before her. This is a perfect title in every way.

Both Dawn and Victor are awesome characters. There isn't anything I didn't love about them. Victor especially impressed me in his ability to make very final decisions. No wishy washy choices like some other vampires. But even better was Dawn's dead determination to live true to her feelings no matter the consequences.

There was a moment while reading this book where I sent out a mental shout to Dawn. She got on her soap box and claimed that she would never, never, ever want to be a vampire and lumped them into one evil pile.  My mental voice could only say, "Never say never, Dawn." 

By far the best chapter was number five but I won't say more; you will have to see for yourself. This, of course, excludes the end, since they are of a different caliber.

This book reminds me quite a bit of Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey.

The ending brings a slew of big surprises and unexpected twists. It gave me the chills, set my heart a flutter, and then into a gallop and ended by dropping my jaw. I loved it! I was reading the end of this while around a couple other bloggers and they can attest to my excitement at the end. I was positively hooked so much so that I was full of exclamations.  The ending is stellar and leaves me very impatiently waiting to find out what its cryptic words mean. On one side I want her to eat her words but on the other I want the impossible. Dare I hope or scream "I told you so?" Does hoping make me a bit foolish?

Content:
Sexual: mild
Violence: moderate

Moment Divine:
"He was made to sin."

2 comments:

  1. I had no interest in this book but your comparison to Jessica has me intrigued now. I might give it a shot. I know a few people have really loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't paid too much attention to this book but I liked your review and it actually makes me want to pick it up and read it.

    ReplyDelete